Townsend and Bloma Take Home Top SLIAC Women's Soccer Awards

Townsend and Bloma Take Home Top SLIAC Women's Soccer Awards

Paige Townsend and Elena Bloma take home the top individual honors on the 2017 St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Women's Soccer All-Conference team. Townsend was named the Offensive Player of the Year while Bloma takes home the Defensive Player of the Year award. Also receiving awards are Kate Arthur, the 2017 SLIAC Newcomer of the Year and Jeff Wardlaw, the 2017 SLIAC Coach of the Year. In addition, Principia College received the SLIAC Sportsmanship Team Award.

Townsend, a senior, led all conference players with 11 goals during SLIAC play, adding five assists and finishing second with 27 total points. She had goals in six of her nine conference games, including a pair of hat tricks. Townsend had a season-high four goals this fall, matching the program record for goals in a game. Townsend can now add another program record to her name, becoming the first Blue Jay to take home the Offensive Player of the Year award.

Bloma, a senior, wins her second straight SLIAC Defensive Player of the Year award. Bloma was the anchor of a Gorlok defense that shutout seven of their nine conference opponents, allowing just two goals. The Gorlok defense also let up just 40 total shots in their nine conference games. Bloma even chipped in with a goal and an assist during the conference season.

The 2017 SLIAC Newcomer of the Year is Greenville University's, Kate Arthur. Arthur, a freshman, helped form one of the league's top offenses. She finished conference play with 11 goals, 10 assists, and 32 total points; leading conference players in all three categories. Arthur had four games with multiple goals and scored points in six of her nine conference games. She is the fifth player in program history to take home the award, and the third straight Panther to win; joining her teammates Dani Pearce and Breanna Thomas.

Arthurs' coach Jeff Wardlaw is the 2017 SLIAC Coach of the Year. Wardlaw led the Panthers to a 13-6 overall record, going 7-2 in conference play. A year after missing the tournament he guided the Panthers back to the postseason. The Panthers finished in the top three in conference teams in both goals scored and shutouts this fall. This marks the first time he has been named the SLIAC Coach of the Year, and he becomes just the second Panther head coach to earn the honor; joining Bob Johnson (1998). 

This year's SLIAC Team Sportsmanship Award goes to Principia College. This award is given to the team whose players, coaches, and fans best exemplify the principles of good sportsmanship. This marks the seventh time in program history Principia has taken home the award. 

The SLIAC also recognizes one individual from each team on the All-Sportsmanship team. Those honored are: Jessica Esper, from Blackburn College; Jamie Hedges, from Eureka College; Anna Whitaker, from Fontbonne University; Natty Hepburn, from Greenville University; Grace Alongi, from Iowa Wesleyan University; Erin Detter, from MacMurray College; Vanessa Ramirez-Jasso, from Principia College; McKenna Pfeiffer, from Spalding University; Carolyn Ries, from Webster University; and Heidi Gundy, from Westminster College.

First Team                
Name   Pos   School   Yr   Hometown/High School
Melissa Kasper   F   Webster   So   Chicago, Ill./Oswego
Paige Townsend   F   Westminster   Sr   Nixa, Mo./Nixa
Meredith Wendt   F   Fontbonne   Sr   Troy, Ill./Triad
Brianna Pagan   MF   Webster   Sr   St. Louis, Mo./Washington
Carolyn Ries   MF   Webster   Jr   St. Louis, Mo./Lindbergh
Breanna Thomas   MF   Greenville   So   Carbondale, Ill./Carbondale
Ellen Weaver   MF   Fontbonne   Sr   St. Charles, Mo./St. Charles
Elena Bloma   D   Webster   Sr   St. Louis, Mo./Eureka
Tymber Gabbert   D   Greenville   Sr   Sedalia, Mo./Homeschool
Alnee Tutson   D   Spalding   Jr   Mt. Washington, Ky./Bullitt East
Aly Miller   GK   Webster   So   Middleville, Mich./Thornapple
Second Team                
Name   Pos   School   Yr   Hometown/High School
Kate Arthur   F   Greenville   Fr   Springfield, Mo./Glendale
Dani Pearce   F   Greenville   Jr   Springfield, Mo./Glendale
Baylee Tabler   F   Spalding   Sr   Bardstown, Ky./Nelson County
Madison Arens   MF   Principia   Jr   Ballwin, Mo./Principia
Morgan Henry   MF   Westminster   Sr   Camdenton, Mo./Camdenton
Gracie Koonce   MF   Westminster   Jr   Norman, Okla./Norman
Lauren Nuelle   MF   Webster   Sr   St. Louis, Mo./St. Joseph's
Emelie Fredrikson   D   Principia   Sr   St. Louis, Mo./Principia
Maddie Redohl   D   Fontbonne   Sr   Fenton, Mo./Rosati-Kain
Sydney Tedesco   D   Webster   Sr   Belleville, Ill./Belleville East
Ashlee Wilson   GK   Spalding   Fr   Henderson, Ky./Henderson County
Third Team
Name   Pos   School   Yr   Hometown/High School
Clarice Bruch   F   Principia   Sr   Bellevue, Wash./Bellevue
Chelsea Noser   F   Webster   Sr   Collinsville, Ill./Collinsville
Jade Taylor   F   Greenville   Fr   Litchfield, Ill./Litchfield
Suzi Conner   MF   Greenville   Jr   Franktown, Colo./Valor Christian
Madison Ekern   MF   Westminster   So   Chicago, Ill./Whitney Young
Kelsie Huffman   MF   Spalding   So   Louisville, Ky./Fern Creek
Abby McGimsey   MF   Spalding   So   Louisville, Ky./Male
Alaina Allsbury   D   Westminster   Fr   Jefferson City, Mo./Jefferson City
Ali Bumblis   D   Spalding   Jr   Hendersonville, Tenn./Spencer County
Honor Kehde   D   Westminster   Sr   Sedalia, Mo./Sacred Heart
Makayla Hussong   GK   Fontbonne   So   Florissant, Mo./Incarnate Word


All-Sportsmanship Team

Name   School
Jessica Esper   Blackburn
Jamie Hedges   Eureka
Anna Whitaker   Fontbonne
Natty Hepburn   Greenville
Grace Alongi   Iowa Wesleyan
Erin Detter   MacMurray
Vanessa Ramirez-Jasso   Principia
McKenna Pfeiffer   Spalding
Carolyn Ries   Webster
Heidi Gundy   Westminster