Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Webster's Ferguson and Bloma Take Top Honors on SLIAC All-Conference Team

Webster's Ferguson and Bloma Take Top Honors on SLIAC All-Conference Team

Webster University's Allison Ferguson and Elena Bloma took the conference's top individual honors for the 2016 season, headlining the 2016 SLIAC Women's Soccer All-Conference team. In addition Breanna Thomas, from Greenville College, was named the SLIAC Newcomer of the Year while Fontbonne University's Brian Hoener was named the Coach of the Year.

Allison Ferguson, a senior from Highland, Ill., was the Gorloks top offensive player this season and helped them to a perfect 9-0 conference record. Ferguson tallied all 12 of her goals this season during conference action, notching three game-winning goals. She is the sixth player in program history to take home the conference's top individual award.

Elena Bloma, a junior from St. Louis, Mo., becomes the third different Gorlok to be named SLIAC Defensive Player of the Year. Bloma led a Gorlok defense this season that recorded seven shutouts including five in conference play. She also added one goal and three assists while helping her team allowing a conference low six goals during SLIAC play.

Breanna Thomas, from Greenville College, was named the SLIAC Newcomer of the Year after tallying 10 goals and 10 assists during the season including six goals during conference play. The freshman from Carbondale, Ill. led the Panthers in scoring this season and recorded two game-winning goals on the year. She is the second consecutive Greenville player to be named Newcomer of the Year, joining teammate Dani Pearce, and is the fourth player in program history.

This marks the third time that Brian Hoener has been named the SLIAC Women's Soccer Coach of the Year. Hoener, in his sixth season as women's head coach, also received the award in 2012 and 2014. He led the Griffins to a 12-6-2 overall record and an 8-1 record in SLIAC play. The Griffins made a return to the SLIAC Tournament this year and have advanced to the SLIAC Tournament championship game for the first time since 1996.

Iowa Wesleyan University also received the 2016 SLIAC Team Sportsmanship Award for the second consecutive season. The team Sportsmanship Award, created in 2005, is given to the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship. The SLIAC also recognizes one individual from each team, selected by his coach and teammates, who throughout the season best displays the ideals of sportsmanship. Players honored on this year's All-Sportsmanship Team are: Anneliese Darow, from Blackburn College; Heather Wiegmann, from Fontbonne University; Natty Hepburn, from Greenville College; Cecily Herby, from Iowa Wesleyan University; Emily Kolo, from MacMurray College; Vanessa Ramirez-Jasso, from Principia College; Alyssa Logan, from Spalding Univeristy; Jodi Kaiping, from Webster University; and Amy Greene, from Westminster College.

First Team                
Name   Pos   School   Yr   Hometown/High School
Allison Ferguson
  F   Webster   Sr   Highland, Ill./Highland
Rachel Perea
  F   Principia   Sr   St. Louis, Mo.
Dee Dee Sliter
  F   Spalding   Sr   Louisville, Ky./Assumption
Morgan Henry
  MF   Westminster   Jr   Camdenton, Mo./Camdenton
Brianna Pagan
  MF   Webster   Jr   St. Louis, Mo./Washington
Dani Pearce
  MF   Greenville   So   Springfield, Mo./Glendale
Natalie Sipole
  MF   Fontbonne   Sr   Troy, Ill./Triad
Elena Bloma
  D   Webster   Jr   St. Louis, Mo./Eureka
Abby Rockers
  D   Westminster   Jr   Jefferson City, Mo./Helias Catholic
Anna Whitaker
  D   Fontbonne   Jr   East Alton, Ill./Roxana
Tayler Pulvirenti
  GK   Fontbonne   Sr   Maryville, Ill./Collinsville
Second Team                
Name   Pos   School   Yr   Hometown/High School
Baylee Tabler
  F   Spalding   Jr   Bardstown, Ky./Nelson County
Paige Townsend
  F   Westminster   Jr   Nixa, Mo./Nixa
Meredith Wendt
  F   Fontbonne   Jr   Troy, Ill./Triad
Emelie Fredrikson
  MF   Principia   Jr   St. Louis, Mo./Principia Upper
Jodi Kaiping
  MF   Webster   Sr   Waterloo, Ill./Waterloo
Lauren Locke
  MF   Spalding
  So   Bowling Green, Ky./Greenwood
Breanna Thomas
  MF   Greenville   Fr   Carbondale, Ill./Carbondale
Morgan Adams
  D   Blackburn   Fr   Breese, Ill./Breese Central
Madison Arens
  D   Principia
  So   Ballwin, Mo./Principia Upper
Alnee Tutson
  D   Spalding   So   Mt. Washington, Ky./Bullitt East
Hope Brakenhoff
  GK   Greenville   Jr   Litchfield, Ill./Litchfield
Third Team
Name   Pos   School   Yr   Hometown/High School
Melissa Kasper
  F   Webster   Fr   Chicago, Ill./Oswego
Maya March
  F   Blackburn   Fr   Belvidere, Ill./Stillman Valley
Lyndi Saccaro
  F   MacMurray   Jr   Rochester, Ill./Rochester
Clarice Bruch
  MF   Principia   Jr   Bellevue, Wash./Bellevue
Honor Kehde
  MF   Westminster   Jr   Sedalia, Mo./Sacred Heart
Carolyn Ries
  MF   Webster   So   St. Louis, Mo./Lindbergh
Leann Smith
  MF   Fontbonne
  So   Granite City, Ill./Granite City
Lilly Brauer
  D   Webster   Fr   Belleville, Ill./Belleville East
Corinne Petrunich
  D   Greenville   So   Troy, Ill./Triad
Sydney Tedesco
  D   Webster   Jr   Belleville, Ill./Belleville East
Kelsey Kasier
  GK   Spalding   Sr
  Louisville, Ky./Assumption


All-Sportsmanship Team

Name   School
Anneliese Darow
Heather Wiegmann
Natty Hepburn
Cecily Herby
  Iowa Wesleyan
Emily Kolo
Vanessa Ramirez-Jasso
Alyssa Logan
Jodi Kaiping
Amy Greene
Title IX at 45 Years
June 21, 2017 Title IX at 45 Years
March 9, 2017 SLIAC Night With STLFC
New Faces Look To Make History
February 21, 2017 New Faces Look To Make History
Feature Friday with Abe Ott
January 6, 2017 Feature Friday with Abe Ott
#8 Chicago Eliminates Webster
November 12, 2016 #8 Chicago Eliminates Webster
Greenville Goes Back to Back
November 6, 2016 Greenville Goes Back to Back
Yates Earns 400th Career Win
October 22, 2016 Yates Earns 400th Career Win
Feature Friday with Greg Ferry
September 30, 2016 Feature Friday with Greg Ferry