Webster Well Represented On SLIAC All-Conference Team

Webster Well Represented On SLIAC All-Conference Team

Webster University was well represented on the 2013 St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference All-Conference team with ten players earning All-Conference honors as well as Ally Nikolaus, Player of the Year, and Luigi Scire, Coach of the Year, taken home individual honors. Spalding's Dee Dee Sliter was also named the conference's Newcomer of the Year.

Ally Nikolaus highlighted the league's individual honors by being named the 2013 SLIAC Player of the Year. Nikolaus, a senior midfielder from St. Louis, Mo., was part of a Gorlok attack that led the conference in scoring. Nikolaus scored seven goals in just eight games during conference play while helping her team to an undefeated record. Nikolaus is just the third player in Webster program history to win Player of the Year, joining Niki Martinez (2000 and 2002) and Colleen Daues (2003).

Luigi Scire, in his 15th season as head coach of the Gorloks, led his team to a 17-2 overall record in the regular season, completing conference play undefeated with a perfect 9-0 record. He has led the Gorloks to back to back regular season league titles and this marks the sixth time in his coaching career he has been named SLIAC Coach of the Year.

Dee Dee Sliter, a freshman midfielder from Louisville, Ky., saved her best for conference play as she scored 11 of her season's 13 goals in league play. Sliter recorded 11 goals and two assists for 24 points in just nine conference games, placing her first among players during league action. This marks the first conference individual award in women's soccer for the Spalding program since joining the league in 2009.

Fontbonne University received the SLIAC Team Sportsmanship Award for the first time since the award's inception in 2005. The team Sportsmanship Award is given to the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship. The SLIAC also recognizes one individual from each team, selected by his coach and teammates, who throughout the season best displays the ideals of sportsmanship. The 2013 All-Sportsmanship Team includes Jourdin McFarland (Blackburn), Kaitlyn West (Eureka), Allison Weber (Fontbonne), Heidi Koehl (Greenville), Sindy Carillo (Iowa Wesleyan), Alexis Apodaca-Fresquez (MacMurray), Becca DeNicholas (Principia), Kaleigh Hockenbury (Spalding), Jordan Fosburgh (Webster) and Tayisah Ousley (Westminster).

The complete 2013 SLIAC All-Conference teams are listed below.

Ava Johnson, Fontbonne
Kelly Lange, Fontbonne
Paige Pfankuch, Fontbonne
Kelsey Panzau, Greenville
Hayley MacWilliams, Principia
Carlie Sanderude, Principia
Jessica Davis, Webster
Ashley Mess, Webster
Kristin Montgomery, Webster
Ally Nikolaus, Webster
Eileen Koppy, Westminster

Shana Sewick, Blackburn
Kelly Hobbs, Fontbonne
Kayla Thorpe, Fontbonne
Claire Conwell-Vargas, Greenville
Hayley Cooke, Principia
Gabriela Martin, Principia
Dee Dee Sliter, Spalding
Demi West, Spalding
Lindsey Adshade, Webster
Lauren Pratt, Webster
Amy Schield, Webster

Tymber Gabbert, Greenville
Emily Wright, Greenville
Hannah Maledy, Iowa Wesleyan
Kenzie Keller, Principia
Rachel Perea, Principia
Justine Roy, Principia
Rachael Facktor, Spalding
Kelsey Kaiser, Spalding
Jordan Fosburgh, Webster
Lauren Nuelle, Webster
Whitney Scott, Webster
Latayisah Ousley, Westminster