Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

What a Treat! Spalding Men Take Back-to-Back Titles

What a Treat! Spalding Men Take Back-to-Back Titles


The Spalding University men's cross country team had quite the treat, winning their second consecutive St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championship. Spalding captured the 2015 title on the strength of their top runners, placing three runners in the top six finishers.

SLIAC Runner of the Year
Brandon Price, Spalding

Spalding finished with 41 total team points, with Brandon Price leading the way by capturing the individual title and completing the 8K course in a time of 25:22. Price held the lead from the start and had to hold off a late push by a pair of Principia runners to claim the title. Spalding's Nathan Mark finished fifth with a time of 26:20 and Spencer Mitchell grabbed a sixth place finish with a time of 26:21. Joining the trio as 2015 SLIAC Champions are runners Allen Matthews, Tyler Edmondson, Parker Bettag, Cory Heslin, Colin Schell, Brandon Hulse, Nick Gilmore, Robert Daugherty, and Justin Gallagher. Spalding becomes the fifth program in SLIAC history to win multiple championships and is the first team to repeat since Fontbonne University in 2008 and 2009.

Greenville College finished second overall with 51 points as Andrew Sharp led the Panthers with a fourth place finish, completing the course in a time of 25:50. Teammate Nathan Potts also grabbed a top ten finish, placing ninth, with a time of 26:42. Webster University was third with 92 points as Riley Flynn was the top finishing Golork, finishing eighth with a time of 26:34.

Westminster College finished fourth overall with 111 total points and had two runners take top ten finishes. Jesse Edwards placed seventh with a time of 26:31 and Glenn Teubner was ninth with a time of 26:38. Principia College finished fifth with 112 points and had the second and third place finishers. Shane Witters-Hicks came up just short in chasing down the individual title, finishing the race in a time of 25:26 while Zach Matthiesen was third with a time of 25:40.

Blackburn College placed sixth with 156 points as Timothy Lacy led the Beavers with a 30th

SLIAC Newcomer of the Year
John Mangold, Greenville

place finish, completing the course in 28:30. Fontbonne University took seventh place with 183 points as Christopher Brown was the top finishing Griffin, placing 25th with a time of 28:20. Eureka College did not field a complete roster but saw Brandon Ceh place 42nd in a time of 29:41 to lead the Red Devils.

Following the race the 2015 SLIAC All-Conference teams and individual awards were announced. Brandon Price was named the Runner of the Year while Greenville College's John Mangold was named the Newcomer of the Year. Bradley Sowder, of Spalding, was named the Coach of the Year and the Greenville College was awarded the Team Sportsmanship award. In addition the following players were named to the SLIAC All-Sportsmanship Team: Nathan Speckhart, Blackburn; Justin Briante, Eureka; Cristian Sellars, Fontbonne; Jacob Burrell, Greenville; Tyler Wingert, Principia; Tommy Lindemann, Spalding; Brandon Brown, Webster; and Will Mengl, Westminster. For a complete list of award winners click HERE

Webster Tops #7 Rhodes
February 22, 2016 Webster Tops #7 Rhodes
Blue Jays Ousted By DePauw
November 14, 2015 Blue Jays Ousted By DePauw
Vitale Finishes In Top Ten
September 8, 2015 Vitale Finishes In Top Ten