Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Historic Season For Spalding, Highlights All-Conference Team

Historic Season For Spalding, Highlights All-Conference Team

Spalding University's historic 2016 season highlights the SLIAC Men' Soccer All-Conference team. In addition to their first ever regular season conference title the Golden Eagles were honored on the All-Conference team by sweeping the SLIAC individual awards that include the Coach of the Year, Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, and Newcomer of the Year awards. Spalding is the first program to sweep all of the SLIAC individual awards since Fontbonne University did so in 2004. The Defensive Player of the Year award was first added in 2014, making Spalding the only program to win four major awards in the same season.

Spalding University head coach Adam Boyer guided the Golden Eagles to an undefeated conference record in the regular season, going 9-0. They are just the eighth program in SLIAC history to record a perfect conference record (no losses or ties). Boyer, in his fifth season at Spalding, led his team to an 11-6 overall record this season and their first ever SLIAC regular season title, making the program's second ever trip to the SLIAC Tournament. He is the first SLIAC Coach of the Year in Spalding men's soccer program history.

Spalding forward Osman Hussein was a large part of the historical season for the Golden Eagles, becoming the first player in program history to be named SLIAC Player of the Year. Hussein, a freshman from Louisville, Ky., finished the regular season with 11 goals and four assists for 26 total points. He added two game-winning goals this season and ranked second in the conference with nine goals during SLIAC play. Hussein was also named the SLIAC Newcomer of the Year and becomes just the second player in conference history to take home both Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year awards in the same season.

Joey Lesher takes home the Defensive Player of the Year award, becoming the first Golden Eagle to win the award. Lesher, a senior from Carmel, Ind., anchored the backline for Spalding and helped them finish with most team shutouts in the conference with six including five during conference play. Not only was Lesher a vital piece on defense but he added six goals while tying for the team lead with three game-winning goals.

In addition Principia College was awarded the SLIAC Team Sportsmanship Award. The team Sportsmanship Award, created in 2005, is given to the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship. The SLIAC also recognizes one individual from each team, selected by his coach and teammates, who throughout the season best displays the ideals of sportsmanship. Those honored on the SLIAC All-Sportsmanship Team are: Nate Kinnision, from Blackburn College; Shay Garner, from Fontbonne University; Jon Adams, from Greenville College; Max Trautman, from Iowa Wesleyan University; Drake Hardin, from MacMurray College; Ross Johnson, from Principia College; Leslie Chu, from Spalding University; Coale Dolbert, from Webster University; and David Immanuel, from Westminster College. Below is a full list of the 2016 SLIAC Men's Soccer All-Conference teams and award winners.

First Team                
Name   Pos   School   Yr   Hometown/High School
Osman Hussein
  F   Spalding   Fr   Louisville, Ky./Waggner
Drake Trease
  F   Westminster   Sr   Nixa, Mo./Nixa
Austin Willenbrock
  F   Fontbonne
  Sr   Warren, Mich./De La Salle
Edgar Bueno
  MF   Greenville   So   Bellflower, Calif./Bellflower
Austin Lanham
  MF   Spalding   Jr   Shelbyville, Ky./Martha Layne Collins
Alex Smith
  MF   Fontbonne   Sr   Washington, Mo./Borgia
Cooper Smith
  MF   Westminster   So   Columbia, Mo./Rock Bridge
Greg Ferry
  D   Fontbonne   Fr   Ayr, Scotland/Kyle Academy
Josh Jaycox
  D   Westminster   Sr   Fenton, Mo./Rockwood Summit
Joey Lesher
  D   Spalding   Sr
  Carmel, Ind./Carmel
Kyle Hertel
  GK   Webster   Fr   Sandpoint, Idaho/Sandpoint
Second Team                
Name   Pos   School   Yr   Hometown/High School
Abdul Abdullahi
  F   Spalding   Sr   Louisville, Ky./Trinity
Kornell Hilliard
  F   Spalding   Fr   Louisville, Ky./Fern Creek
Dustin Seibolt
  F   Westminster   Jr   Desoto, Kan./Desoto
Daniel Barone
  MF   Westminster   Jr   Broken Arrow, Okla./Bishop Kelley
Briggs Hurley
  MF   Principia   Jr   Ponte Verdra, Fla./Ponte Vedra
Nate Kinnison
  MF   Blackburn   Sr
  Perryville, Mo./Perryville
Dino Music
  MF   Webster
  Jr   St. Louis, Mo./Mehlville
Andres Castro
  D   Fontbonne   Fr   Farmington, Mo./Farmington
Blake Hausman
  D   Westminster   Jr   Columbia, Mo./Rock Bridge
Justin Schmidt
  D   Webster   Fr   St. Louis, Mo./Metro
Kendl Gulick
  Fr   Danville, Ill./Danville
Third Team
Name   Pos   School   Yr   Hometown/High School
Kyle Collins
  F   Westminster   Sr   St. Louis, Mo./Priory
Lane DePratt
  F   Blackburn   Fr   Danville, Ill./Schlarman Academy
Ryan Dudley
  F   Fontbonne   Jr   Eureka, Mo./Eureka
Jonathon Armador
  MF   Iowa Wesleyan
  Jr   Lexington, Neb./Columbus
Sergi Olvera-Vancini
  MF   Spalding   Jr   Covington, Ky./Holmes
Brendan Shields
  MF   Webster   Sr   St. Peters, Mo./Ft. Zumwalt East
Nick Wolf
  MF   Fontbonne   Jr   St. Louis, Mo./Lindbergh
Charles Dalton
  D   Greenville   So   Wentzville, Mo./St. Dominic
Finn Kola
  D   Spalding   Fr   Millfield, Ohio/Athens
Jake Stowers
  D   Webster   Sr   St. Louis, Mo.
Tony Pitaro
  GK   Fontbonne   Jr   Las Vegas, Nev./Bishop Gorman


All-Sportsmanship Team

Name   School
Nate Kinnison
Shay Garner
Jon Adams
Max Trautman
  Iowa Wesleyan
Drake Hardin
Ross Johnson
Leslie Chu
Coale Dolbert
David Immanuel
Title IX at 45 Years
June 21, 2017 Title IX at 45 Years
March 9, 2017 SLIAC Night With STLFC
New Faces Look To Make History
February 21, 2017 New Faces Look To Make History
Feature Friday with Abe Ott
January 6, 2017 Feature Friday with Abe Ott
#8 Chicago Eliminates Webster
November 12, 2016 #8 Chicago Eliminates Webster
Greenville Goes Back to Back
November 6, 2016 Greenville Goes Back to Back
Yates Earns 400th Career Win
October 22, 2016 Yates Earns 400th Career Win
Feature Friday with Greg Ferry
September 30, 2016 Feature Friday with Greg Ferry