Webster Takes Golf 2014 Title

Webster Takes Golf 2014 Title



The Webster University men's golf team played their best rounds of the season as they edged out Spalding University for the 2014 St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championship title. Webster and Spalding battled back and forth over the two days of competition but in the end it was a tournament low final round for Webster that gave the Gorloks a conference record sixth tournament title.

Webster lowered their score in each of the three rounds as the tournament went on from an opening round of 299 to a 294 in round two and a tournament best 284. They are only the third team to shoot below a 300 in each of the three rounds of the tournament. The Gorloks placed three golfers in the top ten including two in the top five. Tyler Thorman led the Gorloks with a 215, including being just one of four players to record a round below par in the tournament, and finished second overall. Brodie Dakin shot a 219 while Jon Hughes finished with a 223 and earned 2014 SLIAC Co-Newcomer of the Year honors.  Four of the Gorloks five golfers saved their best for last, shooting tournament best rounds in the final round. Webster head coach Andrew Belsky received the 2014 SLIAC Coach of the Year award, the fifth time in his coaching career he has received the honor.

Spalding finished just four strokes back of Webster with an 881 (301-290-290), shooting 290 in both the second and third rounds after an opening round of 301. The Golden Eagles also placed three golfers in the top ten and two in the top five. Andrew Pleasant paced Spalding with a 216, finishing third overall, while Hunt Lenz was fourth with a 217. Jonathan Gandia placed seventh with a 222.

Fontbonne University and Iowa Wesleyan College tied for third in the tournament with a three round total of 915. After shooting over 300 in each of the first two rounds Fontbonne made a run in the third round, getting below 300 with a 298. The Griffins were led by Zane Betz who shot a 225 and placed 10th.

Iowa Wesleyan, who was in second place after the first round with a team score of 300, fell back in the third round but were able to tie for third. Blake Mitchell carried the Tigers with a 212 and winning the tournament individual title and being named 2014 SLIAC Player of the Year. Mitchell was just one stroke back of the conference tournament record and shot scores of 70-69-73. Teammate Michael Neff picked up Co-Newcomer of the Year honors after placing eighth in the tournament field.

MacMurray College was just behind in fifth place and a team score of 918 (315-302-301). The Highlanders were paced by Jeremy Rolf (74-77-69) who closed out strong with a below par performance in the final round and claimed sixth individually.

Blackburn College took sixth place with a 1042 (344-346-352) while Westminster College finished seventh with a 1057 (355-351-351) and Eureka College finished eighth with an 1144 (361-385-398).

MacMurray College was awarded the Team Sportsmanship award which given to the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship. The SLIAC also recognizes one individual from each team, selected by his coach and teammates, who best displays the ideals of sportsmanship. The 2014 All-Sportsmanship Team includes Ryan Long from Blackburn, Chance Frey from Eureka, Kory Carter from Fontbonne, Blake Mitchell from Iowa Wesleyan, Tarryn Link from MacMurray, Andrew Pleasant from Spalding, Jon Hughes from Webster and Eric Strange from Westminster.