Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Spalding's Ferch and Trio of Gorloks Top SLIAC Baseball Individual Honors

Spalding's Ferch and Trio of Gorloks Top SLIAC Baseball Individual Honors

Spalding University's Derek Ferch was named the 2014 SLIAC Player of the Year while a trio from Webster University grabbed the remaining individual honors. Isaac Behme was named Pitcher of the Year while CJ Lee was named Newcomer of the Year and Bill Kurich was named Coach of the Year.

Derek Ferch, a senior infielder from Louisville, Ky., is the 2014 SLIAC Player of the Year after finishing in the top five in four batting categories. Ferch finished the regular season ranked third in batting average, hitting .396 on the season, while finishing fourth in total hits and runs batted in tallying 57 hits and 39 RBIs. Derek, a shortsop, also ranked third in the SLIAC in assists with 116, and turned 18 double plays on the year, which ranks fifth in the conference.

Isaac Behme, a junior from Harrisburg, Ill., is the SLIAC Pitcher of the Year. He finished the regular season with a 3.25 earned-run average with 56 strikeouts in 63.2 innings pitched. All seven of his wins came during conference play and were a conference high. Behme ranked 4th in E.R.A. during conference games with a 1.66 mark and held conference batters to just a .172 batting average while recording 49 strikeouts during his seven starts.

CJ Lee, a freshman pitcher from Aurora, Ill., is the 2014 SLIAC Newcomer of the Year after recording all four of his during conference play. Lee was 4-1 overall with a 1.90 earned-run average. His 1.50 E.R.A. during conference play was second best while adding 42 strikeouts in 30 innings pitched.

Webster University head coach Bill Kurich picked up SLIAC Coach of the Year honors for the fifth time in his coaching career. Kurich, in his eight year as Gorlok head coach, has guided his team to a #1 ranking this season and went undefeated in conference play with a 26-0 record. The Gorloks secured the top spot in this year's SLIAC Tournament by winning their eight consecutive regular season title.

In addition Eureka College was awarded the conference's Team Sportsmanship award which recognizes the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship. The SLIAC also recognizes one individual from each team, selected by his coach and teammates, who throughout the season best displays the ideals of sportsmanship. The 2014 All-Sportsmanship Team includes Tyler Gosnell (Blackburn), Bryan Meyer (Eureka), Alex Hill (Fontbonne), Mitchell Cernek (Greenville), Tyler Priem (Iowa Wesleyan), Derek Crouch (MacMurray), Dallen Russell (Principia), Matt West (Spalding), Joe Winckel (Webster), and Ryan Loethen (Westminster).

Player of Year: Derek Ferch, Spalding Univeristy
Pitcher of the Year: Isaac Behme, Webster University
Newcomer of the Year: CJ Lee, Webster University
Coach of the Year: Bill Kurich, Webster University
Sportsmanship Award: Eureka College

SLIAC First Team All-Conference  
Pos Player School
P Tanner Carter Fontbonne
P Anthony Willeford MacMurray
P Isaac Behme Webster
P CJ Lee Webster
C Trevor Montgomery Greenville
INF Derek Ferch Spalding
INF Matt West Spalding
INF Taylor Stoulp Webster
INF Tyler Branneky Westminster
OF Matt Mokriakow Blackburn
OF Ryan Mosby Spalding
OF Corey Lasky Webster
DH Joe Winckel Webster
UT Deion Hughes Westminster
SLIAC Second Team All-Conference  
Pos Player School
P Nick Bifano Greenville
P Dylan Dean Smith Webster
C Ian Foege Webster
INF Aaron Moody Blackburn
INF Alex Roedner Fontbonne
INF Jared Storment Greenville
INF Tim Chambliss Westminster
OF Cody Litwiller Eureka
OF Tim Osborne Greenville
OF Charlie Gandolfi Webster
DH Donny Fuhrhop Blackburn
UT Vinnie Birk Blackburn
Honorable Mention  
Pos Player
P Jacob Becker
P Kyle Barbee
Jason Gray
JR Belt
Rob Berger
Korie Vire
Jeff Kammer
Matt Wollnik
Zach Carel
Ed Bargmann
Andy Pichler
Jared Souhrada
UT Blake Lishka Eureka
SLIAC All-Sportsmanship Team  
  Player School
  Tyler Gosnell Blackburn
  Bryan Meyer Eureka
  Alex Hill Fontbonne
  Mitchell Cernek Greenville
  Tyler Priem Iowa Wesleyan
  Derek Crouch MacMurray
  Dallen Russell Principia
  Matt West Spalding
  Joe Winckel Webster
  Ryan Loethen Westminster