Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Blackburn's Fuhrhop, Webster's Dooley Earn Top Baseball Honors in SLIAC; 39 Named All-Conference

Blackburn's Fuhrhop, Webster's Dooley Earn Top Baseball Honors in SLIAC; 39 Named All-Conference

ST. LOUIS - The St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SLIAC) has announced the 2013 All-Conference Baseballl Team and special award winners.

Blackburn College's Donny Fuhrhop, a junior outfielder, was named the 2013 SLIAC Baseball Player of the Year. He hit .440 with 37 hits, while posting a .495 on-base percentage and a .607 slugging percentage to rank among the top five in each category in the SLIAC. He also finished in the top 10 for doubles (6), RBI (21) and stolen bases (9).

Webster senior hurler, Steven Dooley, has been named the 2013 SLIAC Pitcher of the Year. Dooley finished the regular season with a 5-0 record in five conference starts. He posted a 1.93 ERA and 27 strikeouts, while surrendering just 26 hits and four walks in 28 innings.

Spalding University's Wes Phan and Westminster College's Tyler Branneky shared SLIAC Newcomer of the Year honors. Phan, a freshman pitcher, went 5-1 on the mound with a 2.36 ERA and 42 strikeouts in 53.1 innings over seven games, including three complete games. He led all first-year pitchers in the SLIAC and ranked in the top five overall in wins, strikeouts, innings pitched and complete games. Branneky, a freshman third baseman, led all first-year players in the SLIAC in batting average (.432), slugging percentage (.716) and runs (25). He also finished second among newcomers in hits (32), home runs (5) and stolen bases, while finishing top five overall in each category.

Westminster head coach, Denny Hughes, was named the SLIAC Coach of the Year for the first time, and is the first Westminster baseball coach to receive the honor since 2001. Hughes led the Blue Jays to a six-win improvement against conference opponents from last season and a seven-win improvement overall. Westminster finished the regular season 22-9 overall and 17-6 in the SLIAC.

Greenville College received the Sportsmanship Award for the first time since 2007. The team Sportsmanship Award is given to the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship. The SLIAC also recognizes one individual from each team, selected by her coach and teammates, who throughout the season best displays the ideals of sportsmanship. The 2013 All-Sportsmanship Team includes Matt Mokriakow (Blackburn), Brian Munson (Eureka), Matt Suda (Fontbonne), Adam Wallace (Greenville), Bra Passini (MacMurray), Scott Ross (Principia), Matt West (Spalding), Mitchell Bonds (Webster) and Cam Backes (Westminster).

The 2013 All-SLIAC Teams are as follows:

P - Kyle Hudson, Spalding
P - Isaac Behme, Webster
P - Steven Dooley, Webster
C - JR Belt, Spalding
1B - Brett Buchanan, Webster
2B - Taylor Stoulp, Webster
3B - Tyler Branneky, Westminster
SS - Derek Ferch, Spalding
OF - Donny Fuhrhop, Blackburn
OF - Sean Fisher, Fontbonne
OF - Cody Stevenson, Webster
DH - Alex Kazmierski, Webster
UT - Andrew Schlereth, Fontbonne

P - Wes Phan, Spalding
P - Kevin Moritz, Westminster
P - Tyler Ten Eyck, Westminster
C - Brett Freund, Fontbonne
1B - Alex Roedner, Fontbonne
1B - Justin Whitaker, Westminster
2B - Brock Hill, MacMurray
3B - Kenny Trager, Greenville
SS - Grant DeWitt, Eureka
OF - Ryan Mosby, Spalding
OF - Mike Rainbolt, Webster
OF - Matt Mallette, Westminster
DH - Ryan Smith, Greenville
DH - Raymond Marrero, Eureka
UT - Kyle Whitlock, Spalding

P - Jacob Becker, Fontbonne
P - Cody Hafeli, Webster
P - Dylan Dean Smith, Webster
C - Ian Foege, Webster
2B - Cam Backes, Westminster
3B - Mitchell Bonds, Webster
SS - Ryan Hall, Webster
OF - Cole Lawson, Greenville
OF - Corey Lasky, Webster
OF - Deion Hughes, Westminster
UT - Aaron Krumrich, MacMurray