Webster Sweeps 2012 Baseball Special Awards; 40 Named All-Conference

Webster Sweeps 2012 Baseball Special Awards; 40 Named All-Conference

ST. LOUIS - The St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SLIAC) has announced the 2012 All-Conference Baseballl Team and special award winners.

Webster University's Tom Henke, a senior first baseman, was named the 2012 SLIAC Baseball Player of the Year. In 23 conference games played he hit .440 at the plate with 37 hits, 10 doubles, five home runs and 28 RBI. Henke ranked first or second in nine out of ten offensive categories, including leading the SLIAC in slugging percentage (.738), runs batted in (28) and total bases (62). He also tied for the league lead in doubles (10) and home runs (5), while ranking second in batting average (.440), hits (37), runs scored (29) and on-base percentage (.515).

Webster senior hurler, David Mueller, has been named the 2012 SLIAC Pitcher of the Year. Mueller posted a 4-1 record in conference play this season with a 2.35 earned run average. He struck out a league-best 53 batters and held his opponents to a conference-low .150 batting average. Four of his seven appearances on the mound also ended as shutouts, registering two himself and combining on two others.

Another Gorlok pitcher, freshman Isaac Behme, earned 2012 SLIAC Newcomer of the Year honors. Behme went 3-0 on the mound with a conference-best 0.72 earned run average. He allowed just 13 hits and struck out 24 batters in 25.0 innings, while holding his opponents to a .151 batting average, which ranked second in the SLIAC.

Webster head coach, Bill Kurich, was named the SLIAC Coach of the Year for the fourth time in six seasons. Kurich led the Gorloks to its fifth straight 20-win season and sixth consecutive regular season conference championship.

Blackburn College received the Sportsmanship Award for the first time. The team Sportsmanship Award is given to the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship. The SLIAC also recognizes one individual from each team, selected by her coach and teammates, who throughout the season best displays the ideals of sportsmanship. The 2012 All-Sportsmanship Team includes Ian Andrews (Blackburn), Michael Hammerstrand (Eureka), Justin Head (Fontbonne), Adam Wallace (Greenville), Nathan Loy (MacMurray), Greg Ball (Principia), Eric Johnson (Spalding), Michael Aaron (Webster) and Jake Rule (Westminster).

The 2012 All-SLIAC Teams are as follows:

P - Drew Schelerth, Fontbonne
P - Tyler Pilcher, Greenville
P - David Mueller, Webster
C - Matt Moore, Webster
1B - Tom Henke, Webster
2B - Bryan Clemmons, Spalding
3B - Kenny Trager, Greenville
SS - Derek Ferch, Spalding
OF - Donny Fuhrhop, Blackburn
OF - Alex Kazmierski, Webster
OF - Cody Stevenson, Webster
DH - Cameron Norris, Spalding
UT - Alan Cheatham, Principia
UT - David Massengill, Greenville

P - Greg Ball, Principia
P - Taylor Reilly, Spalding
P - Isaac Behme, Webster
C - Aaron Krummrich, MacMurray
1B - Ryan Smith, Greenville
2B - Kyle Tipton, Fontbonne
3B - Donnie Johnson, MacMurray
SS - Taylor Stoulp, Webster
OF - Sean Fisher, Fontbonne
OF - Mark O'Moran, Fontbonne
OF - Kyle Just, Spalding
DH - Mike Rainbolt, Webster

P - Tyler Brown, Spalding
P - Kyle Hudson, Spalding
P - Cody Hafeli, Webster
C - Josh Hofer, Eureka
1B - Jordan Phillips, MacMurray
1B - Zane Wheatley, Spalding
2B - Dylan Goldsmith, Greenville
3B - Zeth Lavy, Westminster
SS - Grant DeWitt, Eureka
OF - Eric Lopez, Eureka
OF - Cole Lawson, Greenville
OF - Wyatt Matteson, Greenville
DH - Gavin Thomas, Principia
UT - Blake McConkey, Eureka