Meet the 2018 SLIAC Hall of Fame Class

Meet the 2018 SLIAC Hall of Fame Class

The St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference has announced the members of their 2018 Hall of Fame class and it includes Christy Capkovic, Drew Clark, Alicia Girbes-Pierce, Paul Moyer, and Tony Stephenson. This is just the fifth time in conference history an induction class has included five or more players and, including last year's class of six, marks the first time the conference has inducted back to back classes of at least five members.

Christy Capkovic was a standout member of the Webster University women's soccer program from 2007-10. She totaled 88 goals in her four-year career, adding 47 assists, and 223 total points. She ranks in the top 25 all-time in NCAA Division III women's soccer history for career goals and in 2009 she led the country in goals and points per game, finishing with 33 goals and 78 points on the season. She remains the Gorloks career leader in game-winning goals with 16 and was named CoSIDA Academic All-America in 2010; just the fifth player in conference history to receive that honor. Capkovic was a four-time All-Conference player and earned Scholar All-Region honors in both 2009 and 2010. 

Drew Clark spent three years at Principia College, setting numerous records while running both cross country and track and field from 2008-12. He earned First Team All-Conference all three years in cross country and was named the SLIAC Runner of the Year during his sophomore and junior seasons. He also picked up All-Region honors as a junior and senior and in 2012 was named to the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team. Clark was also a dominant force in track, where he broke 11 school records including the 1500 meter. As a junior, he was named NCAA Division III All-American after placing 5th at nationals in the 1500 meter race. With his induction, he will enter the SLIAC Hall of Fame as the first track and field athlete to receive the honor.

Alicia Girbes-Pierce was a member of the Principia College women's soccer team from 2008-11, earning All-Conference honors all four years including the SLIAC Player of the Year as a freshman and sophomore, becoming just the second player in conference history at that time to be named Player of the Year as a freshman. She was named All-Region as a sophomore and senior. Principia claimed the regular season title all four years with her leading the way, going 32-0 during conference action while capturing three tournament championships. She and her team's success was just as impressive in the classroom as she was part of a team that earned NSCAA Team Academic Award all four years. Girbes-Pierce finished her career as the program's second all-time leader in goals with 69 while adding 36 assists for 174 total points and netting 18 game-winning goals.

Paul Moyer, a member of the Westminster College baseball team, played for the Blue Jays from 1998-2001. During that time he earned SLIAC Player of the Year honors as a junior and senior. Moyer led the Blue Jays pitching staff by going 15-2 on the mound with a 3.35 earned-run average and 129 strikeouts. He is still second all-time in career complete games with 13. He was named All-Region Second Team in 2000 and First Team in 2001 while also earning All-Conference First Team honors in both of those seasons as well. Moyer helped Westminster to back to back conference titles and national tournament trips in 2000 and 2001. Moyer is just the third baseball player to be inducted into the SLIAC Hall of Fame and the first player from Westminster.

Tony Stephenson becomes just the fourth men's tennis player to be inducted into the SLIAC Hall of Fame. A standout for Westminster College from 2010-13 he was a two-time SLIAC Player of the Year and earned Newcomer of the Year honors in 2010. He earned All-Conference honors in singles and doubles play all four years including First Team recognition in both 2010 and 2011. In addition, he was named Academic All-Conference three times and helped the Blue Jays to three SLIAC Tournament titles. 

Inductees will be honored during the annual St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Awards Banquet. This year's awards event will be held on May 15, 2018. 

- #SLIACtion -