MacMurray's Crouch, Westminster's Lutz Awarded SLIAC Post Graduate Scholarship

MacMurray's Crouch, Westminster's Lutz Awarded SLIAC Post Graduate Scholarship

MacMurray College senior Derek Crouch and Westminster College senior Leigh Ann Lutz have been awarded the 2013-14 St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SLIAC) Male and Female Post Graduate Scholarships.

]The scholarships, selected by the Conference's Faculty Athletics Representatives (FAR) based on the graduating student-athletes accomplishments in and out of the classroom, awards the recipients a financial stipend towards their first year of graduate study. The presentation will take place at the Conference's third annual awards banquet on Tuesday, May 20, at Soccer Park in Fenton, Mo.

Crouch, a two year captain on the MacMurray baseball team, will graduate this spring with a degree in Biology while minoring in Psychology. He was a Lincoln Laureate winner and has served as a Resident Assistant as well as an Orientation Leader. He has maintained a GPA of 3.59 while participating as a member of the MacMurray baseball team, coaching and working in the athletic department. Crouch has been accepted accepted into the Washington University in St. Louis Medical School where he plans to pursue a Doctor of Physical Therapy degree.

Lutz, a four year member of the Westminster women's basketball team, graduates this spring with a degree in Biology/Physical Science. Lutz holds a GPA of 4.0 while serving as a student ambassador and earning All-Conference honors in basketball and helping her team to two NCAA Division III Tournament appearances. She is highly involved in the community, participating in "Clean the Forest", Special Olympics, youth basketball coaching, and Reading Buddies group. She is also a member of the Kappa Kappa Gamma Philanthropy and serving as a CARDV local volunteer. After graduation Lutz will attend Alderson-Broaddus University where she will pursue her Masters in Medical Science.

Previous SLIAC Post Graduate Scholarship Award Winners

2002-03                Joni Dorf, Greenville; Kevin Bartow, Maryville
2003-04                Maureen Walterbach, Maryville; Brady Barke, Webster
2004-05                Christine Baisden, Maryville; Stephen Hoell, Westminster
2005-06                Maria Eftink, Fontbonne; Greg Murphy, Webster
2006-07                Vanda Wilder, Maryville; Ryan Duncan, Maryville
2007-08                Michelle Reale, Fontbonne; Tyler Tate, Maryville
2008-09                Rachael Richards, Principia; Jason Warncke, Westminster
2009-10                Laura Watt, Blackburn; Shanna Crafts, Westminster
2010-11                Aaron Phelan, Eureka; Kelli Ruppel, MacMurray
2011-12*              William Boxdorfer, Fontbonne; Rachel Backes, Westminster
2012-13                Ethan Kristek, Fontbonne; Casey Powell, Principia

*The 2011-12 recipients were recognized as the SLIAC Scholar Athletes of the Year.