Webster Wins 10th Consecutive All-Sports Trophy

Webster Wins 10th Consecutive All-Sports Trophy

Webster University captured its 10th consecutive St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference All-Sports Trophy after winning four conference titles during the 2013-14 year. This is the 14th time Webster has won the trophy since it was first awarded in 1999.

Seven of the conference's 10 members won a conference title this past season, tying the conference record for most in a season (2008-09) and a new mark for most in a non-football sponsoring year. Winning conference titles this year were Webster, Greenville College (Volleyball), Westminster College (Women's Cross-Country), Spalding University (Men's Basketball), Fontbonne University (Softball), Principia College (Men's Cross-Country, Men's Tennis, and Women's Tennis), and Iowa Wesleyan College (Women's Basketball).

Webster captured this year's trophy with a total of 97.5 points; after winning four conference titles and placing second in two additional sports. The Gorloks took home titles in men's golf, women's soccer, and baseball as well as tying for the title in men's soccer. Webster also placed second in volleyball and men's basketball.

Greenville placed second in the standings with 88.5 points after winning their first outright volleyball title. Westminster was a close third with 84.5 points after winning the women's cross-country championship and placing second in both men's soccer and men's tennis.

The SLIAC All-Sports Championship Trophy is determined by awarding points based on each schools finish in the Conference’s 12 sports, earning ten points for a first-place finish, nine points for a second-place finish, etc.  Teams finishing tied split the points for the tied spot and the spot(s) immediately following (two teams finishing tied for third receives 7.5 points). In 2010 the SLIAC All-Sports Trophy guidelines were changed to be determined by total points, rather than a points average. The change was made to further encourage the NCAA Division III philosophy of broad-based athletics programs.

For a complete list of the 2013-14 standings click HERE