Principia Men's Tennis Takes Home Top Individual Honors

Principia Men's Tennis Takes Home Top Individual Honors

ST. LOUIS - The St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SLIAC) has announced the 2012 All-Conference Men's Tennis Team and special award winners. Principia College's Paul Sanderude was tabbed the SLIAC Player of the Year, while teammate Jason Wissman earned Newcomer of the Year honors. Principia head coach Casey Reynolds was also named the 2012 SLIAC Men's Tennis Coach of the Year.

Sanderude earned his second Player of the Year award, after also receiving the honor in 2009. He went 2-1 in conference play this season, and posted a 5-6 overall record at #1 Singles. In addition to Player of the Year honors, Sanderude also received First Team All-SLIAC at #1 Singles and at #1 Doubles along with teammate Jason Wissman.

Wissman played at both #1 and #2 Singles this season, posting 3-1 and 6-6 records at each position respectively. In doubles play, he and Sanderude went 5-0 in conference play and had a 10-4 record overall.

Reynolds earned his first coach of the year honors after leading his squad to their first tournament championship since the 2005 season. Principia finished the regular season with a 4-1 record in conference play and 12-5 overall.

Fontbonne University received the Sportsmanship Award for the first time since the awards inception in 2006. The team Sportsmanship Award is given to the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship. The SLIAC also recognizes one individual from each team, selected by his coach and teammates, who throughout the season best displays the ideals fo sportsmanship. The 2012 All-Sportsmanship Team includes Wes Deibner (Eureka), T.J. Eggleston (Fontbonne), Ian Wolf (Greenville), Jason Wissman (Principia), Wakeel Rahman (Webster) and Steven Yob(Westminster).

The 2012 All-SLIAC Teams are as follows:

#1 Singles - Paul Sanderude, Principia
#2 Singles - Anthony Becker, Westminster
#3 Singles - Ricky Eaves, Webster
#4 Singles - Josh Sellmeyer, Webster
#5 Singles - Kevin Hagenlocher, Principia
#6 Singles - Justin Arnold, Westminster

#1 Doubles - Paul Sanderude & Jason Wissman, Principia
#2 Doubles - Ricky Eaves & Josh Papes, Webster
#3 Doubles - David Berry & Tyler Wollmershauser, Westminster

#1 Singles - Tony Stephenson, Westminster
#2 Singles - Francissco Cortez, Webster
#3 Singles - Nate Waters, Principia
#4 Singles - Tyler Wollmershauser, Westminster
#5 Singles - David Berry, Westminster
#6 Singles - Wakeel Rahman, Webster

#1 Doubles - Tony Stephenson & Steven Yob, Westminster
#2 Doubles - Nate Waters & Weston Kalogeridis, Principia
#3 Doubles - Kevin Hagenlocher & Brian Wold, Principia