Fontbonne, Westminster Take Home SLIAC Men's Soccer Top Individual Honors

Fontbonne, Westminster Take Home SLIAC Men's Soccer Top Individual Honors

ST. LOUIS - The St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SLIAC) has announced the 2011 All-Conference Men's Soccer Team and special award winners. Fontbonne University's Josh Schulz was tabbed the SLIAC Player of the Year, while teammate Jordan Flack earned co-Newcomer of the Year honors along with Westminster College's Caleb Marquis. Westminster head coach Martin Clayes was also named the 2011 SLIAC Men's Soccer Coach of the Year.

Schulz, a sophomore, scored a conference-best 18 points, including a league-high six assists. His six goals were also the second highest total in eight SLIAC games. In addition to Player of the Year honors, Schulz also received First Team All-SLIAC.

Flack, a freshman defender, and Marquis, a freshman goalkeeper, shared Newcomer of the Year honors. Flack led all first-year players in the SLIAC with six goals and 15 points total, finishing third and fourth overall in those respective categories. Marquis posted a 6-0 record in conference play, allowing just five goals in over 433 minutes. He also posted a 0.84 goals-against average in the SLIAC. Both Flack and Marquis were also named Honorable Mention All-SLIAC.

Clayes, who is in his second year at the helm of the Blue Jays program, led his squad to its second SLIAC title and first since 2002. Westminster finished the regular season undefeated in conference play at 7-0-1.

Greenville College received the Sportsmanship Award for the second time since the awards inception in 2005. The team Sportsmanship Award is given to the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship. The SLIAC also recognizes one individual from each team, selected by his coach and teammates, who throughout the season best displays the ideals fo sportsmanship. The 2011 All-Sportsmanship Team includes senior Bryan Lambdin (Blackburn), junior Nate Mullins (Eureka), senior Daniel Lourie (Fontbonne), junior Matt Cowman (Greenville), senior Karl Tooren (MacMurray), senior Garrett Bourcier (Principia), freshman Deron Buener (Spalding), junior Josh Sellmeyer (Webster) and senior JP Thompson (Westminster).

The 2011 All-SLIAC Teams are as follows:

Prince Koroma, Blackburn (So., Forward)
Chris Walker, Blackburn (Sr., Forward)
Daniel Lourie, Fontbonne (Sr., Midfielder)
Josh Schulz, Fontbonne (So., Midfielder)
Steve Beam, Greenville (Jr., Defender)
David Dunlop, Greenville (Sr., Forward)
Nathan Mayberry, Greenville (Jr., Defender)
Alan Cheatham, Principia (Jr., Midfielder)
Samuel Thomas, Principia (Sr., Goalkeeper)
Josh Sellmeyer, Webster (Jr., Defender)
Matt Shoults, Westminster (Sr., Defender)

Paul Tamakloe, Blackburn (Jr., Defender)
Charlie Chafin, Fontbonne (Jr., Midfielder)
Craig Allen, Greenville (Sr., Midfielder)
Nathan Haas, Greenville (Sr., Goalkeeper)
Daniel Taylor, Greenville (Sr., Midfielder)
Karl Tooren, MacMurray (Sr., Forward)
Paul Sanderude, Principia (Sr., Defender)
Patrick Harber, Principia (Sr., Defender)
Wes Miller, Spalding (Sr., Midfielder)
Kyle Leonard, Webster (Jr., Defender)
Sean Peterson, Westminster (Sr., Midfielder)

Cody Halstead, Eureka (Sr., Forward)
Derek Johnson, Eureka (Sr., Defender)
Jordan Flack, Fontbonne (Fr., Defender)
Justin Williams, Fontbonne (So., Forward)
David Cole, Greenville (Fr., Defender)
Matt Cowman, Greenville (Jr., Midfielder)
Connor Winking, MacMurray (Fr., Midfielder)
Clint Carder, Webster (Jr., Forward)
Jason Joshua, Westminster (So., Defender)
Caleb Marquis, Westminster (Fr., Goalkeeper)
Zach Moore, Westminster (So., Midfielder)
Adam Ross, Westminster (Jr., Midfielder)
Tyler Walker, Westminster (So., Midfielder)